Share this post

The map above outlines the seventy one electorates in the Newcastle, Sydney and Wollongong areas compared to the twenty two in the remainder of N.S.W. This illustrates the concentration of political power in the Newcastle, Sydney and Wollongong arias.

The map above displays the electorates in the first state election in 1904.

The area of the current electorate of Barwon contained six electorates in 1904. The current area of Murray contained two, Albury contained two, and Cootamundra five.

On average, one electorate has evaporated from the non-metropolitan area and condensed into the metropolitan area every 5 years. If this long term trend continues, in fifty years time, there will be only one electorate west of the Great Dividing Range.

The map above outlines the electorates of Barwon containing 47% of the area of the state, and Murray containing 13%. These two electorates contain 60% of the area of the state, and the vast majority of the irrigation.

In the 2019 state election, 440,000 people voted for The Greens, the vast majority of these in the metropolitan and north coast electorates. The Greens are opposed to all irrigation, forestry and mining in varying degrees. There are many other metropolitan voters with Green sympathy.

The number of Green voters is the equivalent of every voter in eight and one half electorates. Eight and one half electorates are outlined.

This map displays the relative political powerlessness of the people reliant on irrigation, forestry and mining.

The map above outlines the potential area of The Riverina State. It may be larger.



The map above displays approximate boundaries of electorates in The Riverina using area as the primary qualification. Electorates are limited to being no bigger than 10% of the area of the state, with additional electorates for every 10,000 voters, with electorates limited to no more than 10 in 10% of the area of the state.

The smaller electorates are the cities of Albury and Wagga with an additional three, Griffith and Broken Hill with two and Leeton with one.

The purpose of area qualifications is to ensure effective political representation for people in all areas of the state, and to prevent a concentration of political power and consequent domination in one area or city of the state, to the detriment of the people in the remainder, as is the case in N.S.W.

The coloured south east 10% of the area of the state is limited to ten electorates. This is ten of a total of twenty seven electorates, being 37%.

While some people in these electorates may be tempted to be aggrieved by this limitation, this same area comprises the two N.S.W electorates of Albury and Wagga, with 2.2% of the members of the N.S.W. Legislative Assembly. This is far less than the percentage in The Riverina state; and even this is certain to decrease further over time.

Share this post