Victorian Maps

Victorian Maps
Share this post

Sections of Victoria will benefit from, and be welcome to, being part of The Riverina.

Of the 88 Victorian State electorates and consequent Members of Parliament, 67 are in the metropolitan area marked, while 21 are in the rest of the State. Victoria is another example of the super domination of a State by a Green oriented urban majority.


There are more Green voters in Victoria opposed in varying degrees to all natural resource based activities, with the vast majority in metropolitan Melbourne, than the total number of voters in the nine electorates marked.


1904 State Electoral Map

Country representation in the Victorian Parliament is declining rapidly.

In the first Victorian State election in 1904, of the total of 68 electorates (and consequent Members of Parliament), 23 (34%) were in the metropolitan areas of Melbourne and Geelong, and 45 (66%) were in the non-metropolitan area.

Due to electorates being based on equal population (within 10% of the average) and most population growth being in the urban areas, since 1904 until the most recent redistribution in 2014, the number of country electorates has declined from 45 to 21, with 24 electorates evaporating from the country and condensing into the expanding metropolitan Melbourne, Geelong and the now urban Mornington Peninsula.

Further, between 1955 to 1985 an additional 20 electorates (and consequent politicians) were added to the Victorian Parliament; all in metropolitan Melbourne, Geelong and the Mornington Peninsula.

Of the current 88 Member Parliament, 67 (76%) electorates, and consequent Members, are in the metropolitan area, while 21 (24%) are in the country.

Since 1904, the expanding metropolitan Melbourne, Geelong and the Mornington Peninsula has gained 44 electorates and Members of Parliament, while the non-metropolitan area has lost 24.

Considering that country areas of Victoria previously contained 66% of the original 68 electorates, this 66% equates to 58 electorates and Members of the current 88 member Parliament. Considering the increased numbers in Parliament, since 1904 country membership has proportionally declined from 58 to 21, being effectively a loss of 37 Members.

During the 110 years since the 1904 election until the last redistribution in 2014, the country areas of Victoria have effectively lost 1 electorate and Member of Parliament every 3 years (110 years divided by 37 members), with this electorate and Member of Parliament moving to the Melbourne, Geelong and Mornington Peninsula metropolitan area.

If the country areas continue to lose one electorate and Member of Parliament approximately every 3 years, in 60 years country Victoria will have only 1 (1.1%) Member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly.

Forecast of Victoria’s electoral districts in 60 years if the current decline continues.

While Victoria may choose to repeat what it has done in the past and preserve some country electorates by adding more urban electorates so as to maintain electoral population equality, the proportional affect will not be changed; in 60 years country Victoria will have only 1.1% of the membership of the Victorian Parliament.

Share this post